Yamaha DGX 650 Review – Is The DGX650 Worth Buying?

The Yamaha DGX650 has just about every feature you could want – a great piano

  • Editor Rating

  • Rated 4.5 stars
$699.99
  • 90%

  • Yamaha DGX 650
  • Reviewed by:
  • Published on:
  • Last modified: September 2, 2016
  • Polyphony
    Editor: 85%
  • Keys
    Editor: 100%
  • Features
    Editor: 94%
  • Speakers
    Editor: 80%
  • Jacks/Ports
    Editor: 75%
  • Weight/Size
    Editor: 60%
  • Price
    Editor: 75%


Pros

  • Great polyphony
  • 6-track recorder
  • Best digital piano for learning to play
  • Tons of voices
  • Enormous amount of features
  • Includes matching stand


Cons

  • Heavy
  • No MIDI port


The Yamaha DGX 650 is labeled as a portable grand digital piano, though as far as portability goes, it’s really only the footprint that is small.  The actual unit is quite heavy, but other than that, what you’re getting here is a real quality instrument that will up any pianist’s skill level and give you brilliant sound and dynamics for all of your personal performances.

Yamaha DGX 650 Review – What’s So Special?

Full set of 88 keys and 128-note polyphony

Using their brilliant Pure CF Sound Technology, Yamaha has really hit another one out of the park with their DGX650.  You get an amazingly realistic sound sampling from the Yamaha concert grand piano, giving you a wide range of the best classical piano sounds, from pianissimo to fortissimo right at your fingertips.  The dynamics here are the real selling point as the sound is unmatched in similarly sized and priced digital grand pianos.

You also get an impressive song file catalog with the XG Song Files.  This allows you to play along with some of today’s top artists as well as permits you to play with the preset voices that are so popular in today’s recording industry.  In short, the XG brings you right on level with what the pros are working with.

You can download songs from Yamaha’s XG section on their website, giving you access to the most famous recording artists of today, yesterday and tomorrow.

The DGX650 is also available in 2 different color finishes depending on your preference, either black or white.

What Sound Options Does The Yamaha DGX650 Offer?

128 polyphonic notes might be a little low, but it’s fairly standard with a digital piano. It is worth noting that other models and brands offer more polyphonic notes, , such as the 256 available on the Casio PX850. The DGX 650 makes up for it though with an enormous stock of 100 preset songs among other things.

There are also 147 preset voices, 15 drum and sound effects kits and 381 G-lite present voices, which means you’ll never run out of sounds to play around with. Yamaha ups the ante even further by offering 36 reverb channels, 44 chouruses, 237 DSPs, 5 Master EQ’s and much more.

This Video Shows The DGX 650 In Action:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=srMohnjq-fM

How Will The DGX 650 Enhance Your Piano Play?

The DGX 650 has Scaled Graded Hammer action in all 88 of its weighted keys (similar to the Korg SP170’s Natural Weighted Hammer Action), giving you the resonance of an acoustic piano. You can play soft, medium, hard or take the Graded Hammer action off completely and play with a fixed setting.

The piano’s built-in Smart Chord technology allows you to play chords by simply pressing one key. The technology fills in the rest of the chords for you, making this a great way to “fake” your way through performances.

There is also an Accompaniment feature that has a band “fill in” the backing on your compositions. The Style Recommender feature offers you up a list of styles based upon your individual playing techniques and preferences.

How Does The DGX650 Compare To Other Higher-End Pianos?

Casio PX-850Yamaha DGX 650Casio PX-750Yamaha P255
RatingRated 4.5 starsRated 4.5 starsRated 4.5 starsRated 4.5 stars
Price$949.00$699.99$679.00$1299.99
Criteria
  • Polyphony
    Editor: 100%
  • Keys
    Editor: 100%
  • Features
    Editor: 76%
  • Speakers
    Editor: 100%
  • Jacks/Ports
    Editor: 95%
  • Weight/Size
    Editor: 58%
  • Price
    Editor: 65%
  • Polyphony
    Editor: 85%
  • Keys
    Editor: 100%
  • Features
    Editor: 94%
  • Speakers
    Editor: 80%
  • Jacks/Ports
    Editor: 75%
  • Weight/Size
    Editor: 60%
  • Price
    Editor: 75%
  • Polyphony
    Editor: 85%
  • Keys
    Editor: 100%
  • Features
    Editor: 76%
  • Speakers
    Editor: 70%
  • Jacks/Ports
    Editor: 80%
  • Weight/Size
    Editor: 58%
  • Price
    Editor: 75%
  • Polyphony
    Editor: 100%
  • Keys
    Editor: 100%
  • Features
    Editor: 82%
  • Speakers
    Editor: 93%
  • Jacks/Ports
    Editor: 100%
  • Weight/Size
    Editor: 85%
  • Price
    Editor: 58%

How Good Is This Piano For Learning How To Play?

Just like the Yamaha YPG-235, the famous Yamaha Education Suite comes with this digital grand piano. This is one of the premiere learning programs available. You can also play the DGX650 in split and dual mode, making it great for teachers, students and multi-tasking.

A full screen LCD display pops the score and lyrics right up onto the screen as you play. Made from 320 x 420 dots, the monochrome display has an amazingly sharp contrast that makes it easy to see the notes as they come up for quick sight reading and playback.

Can You Record And Share Your Music?

Available in a white or black finish

The DGX650 allows you to record up to five 30,000 note songs to its internal memory of 1.7 megabytes, large enough for a moderately sized song or composition library. If you run out of room, you can save additional songs to an external drive with USB flash memory, which you can transfer to a computer or share with friends.

The recording goes over 6 tracks total – 5 melody and 1 chord. There are also 195 preset voices for you to choose from to assist you in creating your compositions.

What Do Owners Think About The DGX650?

“If you’re looking for a really GOOD, good quality and reliable keyboard that can give you the best possible sound, without breaking the bank, then I HIGHLY recommend this keyboard.” – Source: Caligal (Amazon.com review)

“This is my second DGX piano and Yamaha continues to add great features.”Source: Douglas Craig (Amazon.com review)

“Really happy with my purchase. I have used this thing 95/100 days I’ve had it since. Do yourself a favor and skip investing in little-league keyboards. Just get this one.” – Source: Juan Moreno (Amazon.com review)

“I’m just learning, but I’m glad I invested in an instrument that will grow with me” – Source: zmonkey (Amazon.com review)

What’s In The Box?

There is a Pitch Bend Controller on the DGX650, a keyboard stand, footswitch, music rest and AC power cord included.

While there is only one foot pedal, it does have damper resonance so it’s usable. It would’ve been nice to have more pedals.  You can add a sustain pedal if you really need one, but it’s an extra, not included.

Popular Accessories For The Yamaha DGX650

Yamaha LP7A Keyboard Foot Pedal Unit For Yamaha DGX-650B
$74.99
Rated 4.5 stars

Yamaha BB1 Padded Wooden Piano Bench
$62.92
Rated 4 stars

Yamaha RH2C Stereo Headphones
$29.53
Rated 4.5 stars

Alfred's Basic Adult All-In-One Course Level 2: Lesson-Theory-Solo
$12.35
Rated 4.5 stars

Interpro Dust Cover for 88 Keys Keyboard
$39.99
Rated 4.5 stars

Specs
Keys88
Weighted Keys
Touch Response
Polyphony128
SpeakersFour 6-watt
Recorder6-track
Voices147
LCD Screen
Stand Included
Weight (lbs)65
Dimensions55 x 18 x 30
Preset Songs100
Phone/Out Jacks1
USB Ports2
MIDI Ports
AUX Jacks1 AUX In
Damper Pedals1
Auto Power-Off
Layering
Reverb
Split Mode
Transpose
Tempo Adjust
Metronome
Panel Sustain
Scale Types
Sound Boost
Duet
Damper Resonance
Chorus
Brilliance

Conclusion – Yamaha DGX 650

Summary:

We love this piano. Best bang-for-the-buck out there right now. Is above and beyond in terms of features, keys, polyphony, and just about everything else for the price.

If you’re ready to add a great all-around digital grand piano to your home, click the button below to get the best price and free shipping on the DGX 650:

$699.99
Rating
Rated 4.5 stars

{ 43 comments… add one }

  • jim September 23, 2014, 10:55 pm

    What is the difference between the dgx 650, and the dgx 650b? Jim

    • Rick Stallworth September 23, 2014, 11:27 pm

      Hi Jim.

      All the ‘b’ designates is the color, black. There is also a white finish version of this piano, which is technically named dgx 650wh.

      Hope that helps!

      Rick

  • Lincoln Herzeca September 29, 2014, 2:58 pm

    The DGX-650 sounds too good to be true. It’s well within our budget & space requirements (not much!) What are the downsides? Will it ever need tuning, like a regular piano?

    • Rick Stallworth September 29, 2014, 3:16 pm

      Hi Lincoln – no tuning is ever required on any digital piano. There are no strings that need to be tuned – those are only found in acoustic pianos. So you don’t need to worry about that.

    • Daniel April 10, 2015, 1:34 pm

      No, it won’t ever need tuning (no digital piano does, since there are no strings).

      Yes, it’s really that good. I own one. Really an incredible machine for $799.00.

      Is this professional-grade equipment? No. This is a very good consumer-grade digital piano. Could it be used on stage by professionals if necessary and still sound good? Absolutely.

      It sounds very good (not great, but very good), the hammer action is quite realistic (for a consumer-grade instrument), and the feature set is incredible. One missing feature that could be very useful is sample looping — that is, I want to be able to play a measure or two of a particular lick and have it repeat over and over in the background (to maintain consistent rhythm) while I play another track with a different instrument sound on top of it. It does record multiple tracks, but the looping would make that even more useful.

      The reason I bought it was that it was the best of both worlds — all of the sounds of its predecessor in my home (the 61-key novelty Casio CTK-900) and then some with 88 hammer-action keys and some great recording functionality on top of it. Most of the 88-key hammer action digital pianos under $1,000 don’t have a wide range of instrument voices, and they certainly don’t have the recording features that my DGX-650 has.

      Highly recommended.

  • Vinciane Baudoux November 10, 2014, 2:37 pm

    Hello, I am very tempted to upgrade my PSR E433 to the DGX 650, although I am also considering the PSR S 650. Difficult choice: much more sounds on the PSR 650, as well a the Style Creator ; an overwhelming Natural Grand Piano souund on the DGX 650, togetherr with many more Sweet!, Cool!, Live! and Mega! voices than on the DGX 650.

    Moreover, I have a few worries regarding Styles on the DGX 650: can the keyboard read external styles directly from an USB memory stick, or should the styles be uploaded to the internal Flash memory beforehand? How many external styles can be uploaded to the keyboard at once? Will Style Recommander work with external styles, or only with the onboard styles?

    Also, a function that I like very much on the PSR E433 is the possibility to mute individual style tracks, which adds a lot more flexibility to the styles. Is it possible to do the same thing on the DGX 650? Actually, in the manual, I have seen that it is possible to mute individual tracks of songs with 6 dedicated buttons, but it says nothing about doing the same with style tracks. I am asking this question because on the PSR E433, which costs not even half the price of the DGX 650, with the same 6 individual buttons, you can mute either the song tracks if you are in Song mode, or the style tracks if you are in Style mode. I love this function, because instead of using a factory Style intro, I do the intro myself through activating the style’s track one by one: the drum track, then the bass, after that the guitar or possibly a pad or an organ, etc., depending on the chosen style.

    Thanks for helping,

    Best Regards.

    • Rick Stallworth November 10, 2014, 7:28 pm

      Hi Vinciane

      According to the manual, you can read Style files from a USB drive (or at least it sounds like you can):

      “You can also play the Styles in the instrument’s flash memory area transferred from a computer or loaded from a USB flash memory, and Styles on a USB flash memory connected to the instrument. These styles are numbered from 196 upward.”

      The DGX650’s internal memory is 1.7 MB’s (I never understood why, in this day and age, the memory on these pianos is so small). Apart from user songs, you should be able to load as many Style files as will fit into that space. The max style file size, obviously, is 1.7 MB’s, but each Style file is sure to be much smaller than that. Bottom line is that it really depends on the size of the Style files you want to use.

      I can’t find a definitive answer as to your Style Recommender question.

      As for muting, I took a look at the PSR E433 manual. The only references to ‘muting’ in that manual are for muting tracks (not Styles), which is exactly the same type of muting referenced in the DGX 650 manual (tracks and NOT Styles). If I had to guess, I would say that both pianos would perform in the same fashion in regards to muting, but that is only a guess.

      Hope that helps somewhat, though you may have more questions now than before you asked

  • Donald December 2, 2014, 2:46 pm

    Hi Rick – or anybody – I am wondering_ is it possible to plug in a microphone and sing through the piano amp/speaker system whilst playing, or do I need separate amps etc?

  • Al December 16, 2014, 11:15 am

    I’m not knowledgable about midi but the manual references being able to save your creations as midi files. Is this offering different than “midi out”?

    • Rick Stallworth December 16, 2014, 4:33 pm

      Really no difference.

      MIDI is just the format that the creation is saved in (just like a CD track could be saved as an MP3 or a WAV file). The DGX650 doesn’t have any MIDI-out ports, but recordings on it can still be saved in MIDI format via the USB to host port. Recordings can also be saved as WAV files as well.

      • Al December 16, 2014, 8:59 pm

        Ok thanks. I was hoping buying this would save me from having to buy a controller as well. Bummer. Since I actually need the controller more than the piano right now I’ ll hold off buying this. But I do think it would be great when I am ready to take piano lessons. Thanks for the clarification. It would have been frustrating to learn after the fact

        • William June 7, 2015, 5:28 am

          I’ve used the 650 as a controller for Apple Logic plug ins via usb, (Omnisphere 2 and etc) and it was plug and play simple. I if you want to use it with a module (keyboardless) synth there are adapters for that that work quite handily. Bottom line: You can use it as a controller with no problem really.

  • Al December 16, 2014, 6:12 pm

    Thanks. As a total newbie this is where i get lost. Wikipedia page for “midi controller” in the last section mentions USB-equipped controllers. Can the dgx-650 function as such a controller, and if so, function as easily as a keyboard with the standard midi output jack and without any more limitation?

  • Al December 17, 2014, 2:57 pm

    I suspect that reviewer is making an assumption that he has not actually put to the test. The more I look into this the more I believe that the midi function with this Yamaha is limited to what the manual itself addresses, and that is saving as midi files and connectivity to iOS devces and apps for notation, sheet music and editing, but not as a controller functioning in the sense that home studio recording requires.

    I think this Yamaha is great for my needs but I am looking at the Casio pix-780 because it does have the midi in and out as well as USB.

  • Daniel January 12, 2015, 9:38 pm

    I have owned the DGX-650b for more than a year, and I absolutely love it. Fantastic instrument (especially for the money), and I haven’t even scratched the surface of what it can do.

  • Miha February 18, 2015, 7:58 pm

    Hello! My name is Miha and i was wandering, what kind of equipment is compatible with dgx650 (volume peda, effect pedals,….) except for the sustain pedal and the three pedal unit you can put together with the stand

    thanks a lot

    • Rick Stallworth February 18, 2015, 10:16 pm

      The official accessory list from Yamaha consists of the included footswitch, HPE-150 headphones (though any pair of headphones should work just fine as it’s a normal headphone jack), the LP-7A pedal unit you mentioned, and the FC4/5 footswitch.

      I can tell you that the FC7 volume pedal is NOT compatible with the 650, per Yamaha. Unfortunately I can’t find a definitive answer as to if any other type of volume or effects pedal would work with this keyboard.

  • Sara March 8, 2015, 12:20 am

    Hi! I’m a music education/music therapy major and I’m looking at getting a digital piano that I can use in my apartment. At fist I was going to get a Casio Privia px350 but after reading some reviews about Casio I decided to stick with the well known brand of Yamaha. I am now torn between the P105 and the DGX650. I would use for my class piano, music theory, sight singing, and composition classes but on the other hand I like to record music on my laptop and even perform some gigs. Between the P105 and DGX650, which do you think would be the best for the things I will be using it for and for me to spend my money on?

    • Rick Stallworth March 8, 2015, 1:36 am

      Hi Sara – both are good choices. The DGX650 is equal to or bests the P105 in every category but two – weight and price.

      The DGX650, even without the stand, weighs nearly 50 lbs vs just 26 lbs for the P105. That may be a major consideration for you if you’re going to be taking the piano to class or to gigs.

      The DGX650 is also $300 more at this time. The price of the P105 just recently dropped $100 to $499.99.

      The DGX650 does everything the P105 does, and in the following cases, does them better:

      – 6-track recorder on the DGX650 vs a 2-track on the P105
      – 147 voices vs just 14 on the P105
      – LCD screen on the DGX650
      – panel sustain is only with the DGX650
      – chorus function only on DGX650
      – 100 preset songs vs 50 on the P105
      – 2 USB ports on the DGX650, only one on the P105
      – stand is included with the DGX650

      The P105 has slightly higher powered speakers (7-watt vs 6-watt on the DGX650). The P105 also has 2 headphone jacks and 2 AUX out ports (vs 1 of each on the DGX650).

      As is always the case, it pretty much comes down to what you want to spend. The P105 is very good and probably would be fine for you, especially considering the weight. However, if you want higher-end features and performance, I’d go with the DGX650.

      Hope this helps. – Rick

  • Paul Butzine March 22, 2015, 1:41 am

    When splitting the keyboard, the sustain pedal controls only the right hand portion of the keyboard but not the left. Is this “normal” for the instrument or am I not doing something right?

    • Rick Stallworth March 22, 2015, 3:13 am

      From the DGX650 manual – “the sustain function does not affect the split voice”. It looks like this is by design.

      • Alexey March 31, 2015, 9:09 pm

        Is it the same with the pedal group as well (a pack of 3 connected via different socket)? Sostenuto and Dampener pedals?

        • Rick Stallworth April 1, 2015, 5:20 am

          I believe it is the same. I’ve not found any reference to the 3-pedal unit making any difference.

  • Sanket April 5, 2015, 4:31 am

    Do we have a registration memory where in i can save the voices ready in the store in each section and use them when required on the fly. Also can i have a different instrument voice in real time if I want to add 2nd voice on the fly..

    • Rick Stallworth April 5, 2015, 4:59 am

      Yes, the DGX650 has a registration memory, which allows the saving of voice settings. The piano also has a dual voice feature which allows you to layer two voices over the entire keyboard.

  • sanket April 16, 2015, 5:40 am

    thanks for the info Rick.. I am planning to buy a digital piano. I am currently using my old keyboard psr 330 hence wanted to confirm that the exisitng features in psr330 already exists in dgx 650.

  • titotio June 2, 2015, 9:14 pm

    The DGX-650 can be used as a MIDI controller.
    I asked Yamaha USA:
    Can the DGX-650 digital piano be used as a MIDI controller?
    If so, are there PC drivers available for this?

    And got this response:
    Regarding the DGX-650, yes, this can be used as a controller with computer software. Here are the driver instructions:

    Before installing the driver, the keyboard must be powered on, and connected to your computer with a USB A-B cable. (The cable connects to the instrument’s To Host USB port)

    Close out and ignore any “new found hardware, seeking driver messages ” that pop up when you connect the keyboard.”

    32bit :
    http://download.yamaha.com/file/60262
    64 bit:
    http://download.yamaha.com/file/60263
    Thank you,
    John Harjo
    Yamaha PAC Support

    • Shachar January 9, 2016, 9:32 am

      As I wrote below, I can actually confirm this works. I use Linux, so those drivers both don’t work and are not needed. I just plugged it in the computer, and the MIDI programs painlessly detected it under the name “Portable grand”.

  • Mikey Isles August 19, 2015, 4:10 pm

    Can’t fault this keyboard its just perfect for home use. Whether it would stand up to “life on the road” maybe someone else knows, I don’t. For home use its the best! But get a pedal board for it. ??

  • Charlotte September 28, 2015, 11:08 pm

    I’m considering getting this piano but I was wondering if it has to be fitted to its stand as I need to move it about. Basically when it gets delivered can I chose not to use its stand, can I use a different one? I know this sounds stupid but it’s important haha.

    • Rick Stallworth September 29, 2015, 12:17 am

      The stand that comes with the 650 is the one recommended by Yamaha. There are 4 screws used to affix the keyboard to the stand, so you’d have to unscrew those if you wanted to move it. The keyboard is obviously a separate component in itself, and could be placed on a table, cart, rack, etc. I’m assuming you could use a different stand as well – just make sure it would be able to support the size and weight of the keyboard.

  • Julian November 9, 2015, 6:48 pm

    Not sure if the DGX 650 can read WAV or MP3 files directly from the USB flash drive. I keep some WAV/MP3 backing tracks in my PC I’ve downloaded from different sites. I’d like to paste those tracks to the USB flash drive in order to connect it directly to the DGX 650 USB port and play that music alive. Is it possible?

    • Rick Stallworth November 16, 2015, 3:23 pm

      According to the manual, you can read WAV files from USB to the instrument. Nothing is mentioned about MP3, so I don’t think that format is supported.

  • Angie December 8, 2015, 8:25 pm

    Can anyone tell me how many if any harpsichord settings there are on this digital piano and how realistic they sound?

    • Rick Stallworth December 8, 2015, 9:19 pm

      There is one harpsichord panel voice and also 4 XGlite harpsichord voices.

  • Shachar January 9, 2016, 9:29 am

    I own one for almost a year. Here’s my take:
    I’ll start with the bottom line: It’s a great piano, with excellent sound and feel. I have several gripes with it, but they are all on the less important aspects of a digital piano.

    First, some replacement pedal is a must. The pedal that came with the piano is thin, fails to stay in place when you play, and jumps a little when you release it quickly, producing a high pitch knock. I bought the LP-7a and am very happy, but any made for piano external pedal would do.

    My next gripe is with the human interface to the piano controls. Setting transposition and split point, to name just two features, is done via clicks and roll on the settings menu. In non-LCD pianos, you press a button and a key and you’re set. The piano features these abilities, but actually using them is a pain, quite needlessly.

    The LCD features an option to show notes in order to teach you. First of all, I have not been able to set the lessons up in a useful way yet (see gripe above). Even when I do, however, the LCD is too small for a beginner to read notes off of. I’m pretty much skipping those features for now.

    My last point is actually to negate a negative listed by the site. You claim that it has no MIDI port. That is technically true, but quite irrelevant. If you connect a standard A-B USB cable between the piano, the piano will appear to the computer as a MIDI device, and will be completely controllable. In fact, I found no other use for the USB B connector at the piano’s back. This is great for programs that teach you piano via the computer, and works great.

    All in all, despite the gripes I mentioned, I’m very happy with my DGX. It is great at all that’s important in a digital piano (i.e. – sound and feel), and the rest I can learn to live with.

  • Gary glover February 1, 2016, 6:41 pm

    Can I connect a controller into this to access its voices.ie midi keyboard or midi organ bass pedals ect

  • Glenn March 1, 2016, 4:18 pm

    Does any here have experience with the PSR performance workstations and can tell me how the DGX 650 compares to these in the performance features.? I prefer something that feels like a real piano keyboard, but I am very attracted to the high end PSR products (750/950), which have many options for creating music. I am a singer songwriter, and have an acoustic piano, but I need something that connects to the computer and lets my play in melodies, experiment with backing styles, and transfer results to the computer and then refine them further in my DAW software.

    I guess what I am wondering is if these songwriting/music creation features are strong on the DGX 650, or to put it another way, how weak are they compared to the high end PDR models?

    Thanks for any help with this.

  • AJ March 7, 2016, 3:20 pm

    Glenn, et.al. ,

    I’ll start out by saying that an 88 key arranger/workstation (psr s) models cost twice as much as the 650. Keeping that in mind…

    Both the workstations and the 650 can be used as an arranger. The difference is that with the arranger keyboards, you have more availability to control more, on the fly while sitting at the keyboard. However, the 650 has great functionality when combined with midi editing software (google: midi editor). I’d suggest the midi editing software is something you’ll want to have regardless of what keyboard you end up with. Both the arrangers and the 650 can accept direct computer input for midi transfer via USB AB cable and also input via USB flash drive. The difference is you can mute, volume up/down, add midi tracks on the arrangers interface whereas you need to transfer your files from the computer to the keyboard and back do this with the 650. In my opinion, the extra money spent on the arranger can be spent on midi software (you can even get a few for free), that can do so much more than you can do with an arranger at the keyboard interface level. I’d say the strong point of a workstation/arranger is that you can manipulate midis at a live performance it is the better choice. If you just build your music at home like I do, the 650 will work just fine. The 650 has some midi “control” capabilities, I just prefer to do it outside of the 650 on the computer.

    To me it’s simply a time and money issue. I’ll spend the extra time to transfer files, and spend the extra money to bolster my capabilities on the computer side and end up with more functionality in the long run. Either way, if your dealing with midi files on either, you’ll end up hooking a computer up to your keyboard. If your looking at what i would suggest are the intermediate level keyboards, you will have an awesome time with the 650. If you are a serious midi arranger who frequently preforms live and need the ability to make some adjustments on the fly, the PRS-S series is more appropriate. I’d also recommend the Motif XF series if you are interested interested in an arranger.

    I hope this helps. I purposely tried to keep this simple in an effort to address some of the questions above.

  • Casey May 21, 2017, 11:45 am

    It’s RIDICULOUS that when you split the keyboard the lower half DOES NOT RESPOND to the sustain pedal. I’m layering an organ sound-lower with a piano-upper… BOTH SHOULD SUSTAIN… IT SHOULD BE GLOBAL… Like master tune!! STUPID, STUPID AND CHEAP of YAMAHA not to have such a BASIC feature affect both voices… It does it in DUAL!! My hands are doing different harmony lines that BOTH need to sustain sometimes so I can move to the next chord. Now, the organ is choppy and disconnected… VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTING.
    You can’t tell me it takes another $200 or $300 to make both voices sustain… I’m more than a little pissed off to find out about this now.

Leave a Comment